Young player on South African Market,Thunderboltis one of the most valuable gambling establishments in 2019.
Nepal Flag

Research Department

Prof. Yogendra P Singh,


1. Institute of Medicine and Research Department

Institute of Medicine (IOM), the first medical college of the country was established in 1972 under the aegis of Tribhuvan University (TU). The main objectives were to make Nepal self-reliant in the production of human resources for health. Initially, IOM was entrusted with a responsibility to train primary and mid-level of health manpower, responding to the immediate need of the country. Later, as the institutional capacity of IOM strengthened, the Institute realized that it should also focus on the training of higher level of human resources for health, and thus a bachelor degree in medicine and surgery (called MBBS) started at IOM for the first time in the country. This was followed by the initiation of several other post-graduate programs (MD/MS level). Since then, IOM has been established as a center for excellence in training all kind of human resources for health providing quality health care and undertaking scientific research in health sciences.

The curriculum at Institute of Medicine is a blend of theoretical and practical exposures in which students acquire adequate experiences in both cognitive and pragmatic aspects of health care. Traditionally, the focus has been on the community experiences, owing to the greatest need of the country to produce comprehensive, compassionate, and competent health professionals who can deliver the best of their knowledge and skills to the people living in various communities and remote areas. This organ system based integrated medical curriculum focused on community need has created tremendous opportunities for both the faculty and student to conduct research that is need-based and community-oriented.

Over the years, IOM has been instrumental in promoting health research in the country through all its total 31 departments that includes clinical, para-clinical and community health. Clinical research, Biomedical and laboratory-based research have been reported in several national and international publications, some of which have gained tremendous popularity abroad. Thus, Institute of Medicine is committed to improve the quality of research; as it helps to promote quality teaching learning activities and to provide better health care services.

To facilitate research works, Institute of Medicine has established Research Committee, Institutional Review Board (IRB), and Research Department under the Dean of IOM, TU.


2. Research Committee

Dean of the Institute of Medicine, Tribhuvan University is the Chairperson of Research Committee. Members of Research Committee are nominated by Dean from various disciplines. The objective of Research Committee is to set policy and guidelines in order to promote research in health science at the Institute of Medicine and create a research environment.


Research Committee

Chairperson: Professor Dr. Jagdish P Agrawal, Dean, Institute of Medicine

Member: Professor Dr. Rajendra Prasad Sharma Guragain, Department of ENT

Member: Professor Dr. Madhu Dixit Devkota, Head, Department of Community Medicine & Public Health

Member: Professor Dr. Yogendra P Singh, Research Director, Institute of Medicine

Member: Professor Dr. Pradip Krishna Shrestha, Head, Department of Internal Medicine

Member: Professor Kiran Bajracharya, Mahrajgunj Nursing Campus

Member: Professor Dr. Bishnu Shankar Poudel, Executive Director, CNAS, Tribhuvan University

Member: Dr. Meghnath Dhimal, Nepal Health Research Council


A. Research Department

Research Department was established in March 2008 by Dean, Institute of Medicine to strengthen research in the institute. Director of Research Department appointed by Dean, will implement the decision of Research Committee and coordinate the research activities between the Dean of IOM, and other concerned bodies such as Institutional Review Board, Campus Chief of Maharajgunj Campus and others.

Objectives of Research Department:

  • To activate and promote research activities of various Campuses and their Departments
  • To provide technical expertise as per their need
  • To conduct research methodology workshops and trainings for faculties  and post graduate students
  • To build up collaboration in research with various national and  international organizations
  • To identify and explore research areas.
  • To support teaching/learning activities.
  • To monitor the progress of enrolled research work in the institute
  • To help in the publication of research articles
  • To process and provide ethical approval
  • To supervise and monitor of research activities of IOM and national and international linkage research project.
  • To promote and link with INGOs/NGOs for research collaboration


Professor Dr. Yogendra P Singh
Director, Research Department

Institute of Medicine
Tribhuvan University
Maharajgunj, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone: 00977-1-4413187 (Office)
Fax: 00977-1-4418186
G.P.O. Box: 1524


Administrative Staffs:
1. Mr. Chet Nath Bhandari, Section officer
2. Mr. Rajiv Budhathoki, Head Technical Assistant (Computer)
3. Ms. Ganga Dhakal, office attendant

Research Department
Institute of Medicine
Tribhuvan University
Maharajgunj, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone: 00977-1-4413187 (Office)


B. Institutional Review Board (IRB)

Institutional Review Board (IRB) was established in 2004 in the Institute of Medicine as helping hand to Research Committee with the objective to do ethical review of the proposals submitted by the faculties and the students within the institute. The IRB at Institute of Medicine consists of members from various departments within the Institute. The role of the IRB is to review in advance all research proposals involving human subjects’ data, and to monitor the progress of projects that have been reviewed by the IRB. The purpose of IRB review is to insure that the rights of human subjects are protected. The mandate of the IRB is to monitor and review all research conducted by IOM faculty, students and staff that compiles and analyzes data gathered about human subjects. In addition, the IRB reviews research conducted by parties not affiliated with the Institute, but which uses IOM students, faculty or staff as research subjects.


Following members of Institutional Review Board (IRB), nominated from the Research Committee of Dean’s office are as follows:

S.N. Name Position in IRC
1 Prof. Dr. Mohan Raj Sharma Chairman
2 Prof. Dr. Yogendra P Singh Member Secretary
3 Prof. Dr. Dhanik Lal Bharkher Member
4 Prof. Dr. Neelam Pradhan Member (Female)
5 Prof. Dr. Ananda Kumar Sharma Member
6 Prof. Sulochana Shrestha Member (Female)
7 Prof. Dr. Bishwas Pradhan Member
8 Asso. Prof. Dr. Anil Kumar Das Member
9 Asso. Prof. Dr. Meenu Choudhary Member (Female)
10 Asso. Prof. Dr. Abhimanyu Jha Member
11 Mr. Sushanman Shrestha Member
12 Mr. Prem Basel Member
13 Advocate Mr. Krishnadev Panta Member

Application for approval Research Proposal Form

Nepali and English consent Form

Visitor Counter